New members announced for Ofsted board

New members announced for Ofsted board

The Department for Education has announced two new appointments and a re-appointment to the Ofsted board.

Dame Kathryn August and Pamela Scriven QC have been appointed to serve on the Ofsted Board for three years. John Hughes has been re-appointed to serve for an additional three years. Linda Farrant and Paul Snell’s terms on the Ofsted board have ended today.

Julius Weinberg, chair of the Ofsted board said: “I have encountered great pride and professionalism every day since I joined Ofsted. It is made up of people who want to make a positive difference to children’s lives and help give them a better future.

“So I am delighted to welcome Kathryn and Pamela to the Ofsted board, and I am sure their individual expertise and experience will be hugely valuable to the organisation. I am also pleased that John is staying on.

“I would like to wish Linda and Paul all the best after they leave. I’m grateful for the huge contributions they have all made to the Ofsted board.”

The appointments were conducted and agreed in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments (OCPA) and were made on merit; political activity played no part in the decision-making process.

However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations and the code of practice, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity (if any declared) and other information, to be made public.

The roles are remunerated at £8,282 per annum, based on 20 days’ work.

Read more